Comments Deleted and Banned from “Proud Atheists”

I’m posting this just so we can have on record yet another intellectually dishonest atheist. 

Mark, over at Proud Atheists, posted some statistics on Christians and atheists in jail.  Trying to make the point that since there are hardly any atheists in jail, therefore religion is bad. 

Of course, the statistic that Mark is purposefully ignoring is that there are hardly any atheists in America!

I pointed this out to him when I said:

Unfortunately, the most recent (2001) ARIS poll shows that only .4% of the US population positively professes atheism while a 2005 Gallup poll shows that only 5% say they don’t believe in God (that includes agnostics btw). It’s convenient of you to use the low population of atheists in prisons but ignore the very low population of atheists in America. Twisting stats just because it suits your argument…tsk tsk Mark.

He responded with:

The keyphrase is “open atheists”.

A new survey in the U.S. shows that the number of 18-25 year olds who are atheist, agnostic or nonreligious has increased from 11 percent in 1986 to 20 percent today.

http://humaniststudies.org/enews/?id=281&article=0

A 2005 survey published in Encyclopædia Britannica finds that the non-religious make up about 11.9% of the world’s population, and atheists about 2.3%. This figure does not include those who follow atheistic religions, such as some Buddhists.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atheism#Demographic

So, not only does he confirm my statistic in his second citation (2.3%), he completely goes off the deep end with his first citation.  I informed of this:

Mark

This is getting ridiculous. I give you statistics from a Gallup poll and the ARIS report and you give me Pew Research Center from a Humanist website about 18-25 year olds? Since when were we talking about 18-25 year olds?

But I know what you did, you found the highest percentage you could, regardless of reliability and relevance and cited it. Are you even attempting to be honest?

Now, this is where Mark get’s REALLY shady, he responded with:

Polls from 2001?? That’s back when people loved GW Bush. I wouldn’t bet on 8 year old polls no matter who conducted them. Things have changed quite a lot since then. And since when aren’t 18 – 25 year olds relevant?? They pay taxes too!

Like I said, no matter what stats I introduce,you would discredit them.

In the original discussion, that comment ended with the phrase, “And never question my honesty”. 

I wrote two more comments.  One that was devoted to Mark’s intellectual dishonesty in moving goalposts with the 18-25 year old demographic (something that was never in the original article or discussion) and his verbal threat of “Never question my honesty”.

The other comment was to point out the irrationality of Marks’, “You wouldn’t believe me if I told you anyway!” argument, and that if a Christian used that argument, Mark would be all over him like white on rice, but it’s ok if Mark uses it, well, because he’s Mark. 

Both comments, and his threat, were deleted and when I attempted to comment and address his blogging dishonesty, I found that I was banned. 

Mark, the ultimate irony is that you berate Christians for being brainwashed and lacking all logic.  Well, the only one deleting comments, and banning people, who are merely using argument to disagree with you, is not the Christian.

Explore posts in the same categories: atheism

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Comments Deleted and Banned from “Proud Atheists””

  1. Asmo Says:

    Hmm, ““Never question my honesty”” is a threat? You’ve set the bar really low.

    “Both comments, and his threat, were deleted and when I attempted to comment and address his blogging dishonesty, I found that I was banned. ”

    Sounds like he got rid of a bothersome pest via fumigation.

    Why are you letting it bother you? I thought you were going to quit like your post inferred that you would, “Lately, I’ve Grown Apathetic Towards Atheism”. I suppose I should know better than to take you at your word.

  2. Eric Kemp Says:

    Asmo

    The unspoken suggestion is that there is an “or else” after “Never question my honesty”. It’s a verbal threat, just calling it how it is.

    Yea, Asmo, my logical counter-arguments using statistics to refute his claims is very bothersome, especially to atheists who want to blindly believe what any blogger says as long as it’s anti-Christian. That’s why I was banned, I get that.

    So by saying that I’ve grown apathetic towards atheism, and I want to shift my focus to other places, therefore I can never make another post about atheism?

    Also, are you defending his tactics of squelching counter-arguments and deleting comments he made that make him look bad? Are you really willing to go that far for Mark just because he’s a fellow atheist?

    Yes, shrimp and homosexuality, a logical comparison if I ever saw one.

  3. Jason Says:

    Once again, an atheist misuses the “non-religious” statistic as if it helps his argument. “Non-religious,” of course, doesn’t necessarily automatically equate to “atheist” or “agnostic.” Many people believe in God, a god, or gods, but aren’t religious.

  4. Eric Kemp Says:

    Yea, Mark is the type that will use next to anything if it suits his argument.

  5. asmo Says:

    “Also, are you defending his tactics of squelching counter-arguments and deleting comments he made that make him look bad? Are you really willing to go that far for Mark just because he’s a fellow atheist?”

    No, I’m applauding with the way he dealt with a bothersome pest.

    YEC’s have nothing important to say and it’s a horrible validation of their worldview to treat them as if they do.

    “I want to shift my focus to other places, therefore I can never make another post about atheism?”

    Shifting your focus is one thing, a pathetic post decrying how mean people are is another.

    “Yes, shrimp and homosexuality, a logical comparison if I ever saw one.”

    Well its all the same sin to you, right?

  6. Eric Kemp Says:

    Troll

    “No, I’m applauding with the way he dealt with a bothersome pest. YEC’s have nothing important to say and it’s a horrible validation of their worldview to treat them as if they do.”

    So by “no” you mean “yes”. This is another great example of fantastic atheistic logic, YEC’s don’t have an argument because they’re YEC’s. Keep it up Troll, you are merely proving my point.

    “Shifting your focus is one thing, a pathetic post decrying how mean people are is another.”

    I can see how you don’t like it when I point out another intellectually dishonest atheist, I understand why you must defend Mark. You gotta stand up for your fellow believers no matter how deplorable their tactics are. Keep it up Troll, you’re being a good little soldier.

    But, you know Troll, I have to admit, you’re good, you caught me approving your comments and responding to you again. Disappear until I forget who you are and then when you return you’ll get some comments approved and have me taking you seriously again. It’s a good tactic.

  7. Mark Says:

    Boo Hoo!!!


Leave a Reply

