Critical Thinking

I’ve been out of the battle of worldviews for awhile, but I just couldn’t resist after reading this gem. 

In fact, I have no idea why I was reading “Proud Atheists” again.  Truth be told I don’t find Mark to be intelligent and unique.  He’s just very good at condescending sarcasm and ignorant sensationalism which fills his blog stats.  Indeed, I wouldn’t even be writing this here if I was able to comment on his site (that’s right, I asked him a few tough questions and he banned me back in January). 

OK on to the point.  Mark wrote a post called Let’s Set the Record Straight, and I couldn’t help but smile triumphantly.  The purpose of the post was to . . . set the record straight . . . about how he feels about his atheism.  Some of the points aren’t worth discussing, but others are very telling. 

Part of this first point reads:

 I do not believe in gods, devils, demons, spirits, ghosts, souls, angels or any other being that controls humans.

This begs the question of free will.  Since God doesn’t exist then man is nothing but biochemistry (to say otherwise is just plain ignorance of biochemistry).  So instead of God “controlling us”, as Mark puts it, it is DNA and the chemical interactions controlled by that DNA that controls us.  Mark would call it “What I decided to do at the time” or “I do what I think is right”, but it’s all the same, brain activity controlled by biochemical interactions. 

So, Mark is right, he doesn’t believe in a being that controls humans, and neither do I (for if God really controlled us than atheism wouldn’t exist), but he believes in a worldview that makes the idea of “free will” nothing more than a created self-delusion.  Just as Mark sees those who believe in a deity as delusional, Mark has deluded himself that he has “free will” absent of God.   

Mark’s second point is:

As an atheist, I do not accept prayers, spells, curses, invitations to your theistic site for debate, scriptures, books, videos and other “God” media as proof of “existence of God”. Although you may find them inspirational, they are man made and only support a belief, not proof.

OK, so Mark has proof, while Christians only believe.  Got it.  Also, Mark will not engage in any debate and will not read any evidence for Christianity or against atheism.  Got it.  Take note of these two, they’ll become important in about two seconds.

He continues on with:

It is not my responsibility as an atheist to provide proof for my non-belief in your God or gods. However, if you claim to believe that elves and other supernatural phenomena exist, the burden of proof is on you. Without proof, you will be deemed as deluded in my view.

Wait. wait…wait.  I thought Mark had all the proof and us Christians didn’t?  I find it pretty selfish of Mark to keep all this “proof” to himself.  So, Mark won’t discuss any evidence for any opposite position and he won’t provide any evidence for his position.  Now that’s what I call a rational worldview!

I am not obligated to respect your religion, as most religions do not respect atheism or critical thought for that matter.

If “critical thought” is refusing to discuss an issue and provide evidence for your own opinion then I’ve been doing it all wrong!

Now you see why reading this had me all smiles.  No matter how loud or often Mark calls Christians irrational, his own words betray that he is just as dogmatic as any true believer that I know.

Explore posts in the same categories: atheism

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Critical Thinking”

  1. jonolan Says:

    Why even bother to engage in discussions with the Godless? Having willingly abrogated their own humanity and their souls, they are no longer able function as Men and Women and should be ignored except where it is necessary to guide and shepherd them for their own safety and for the good of Mankind as a whole.

  2. Eric Kemp Says:

    Jonolan

    Thanks for the comment. I do this because Jesus commands me to make a defense of my faith. Also, I enjoy reasoning through my faith and doing that by hearing the arguments in opposition to it. And there is that enjoyment of argument that I’ve developed as well.

  3. Neil Says:

    It is amusing that they always try to assume the position of being the rational ones, when in fact they go in circles most of the time. If their worldview is true, then it is 100% responsible for my Christian faith, my conversion, my “seeing” the evidence for the life, death and resurrection of Jesus, etc.

    They are so proud of their atheism, but if their worldview is true then there is no room for pride. None. It would be completely irrational.

    As usual, their worldview can’t explain ours but ours can explain theirs:

    Romans 1:18-20 The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

  4. DB Says:

    Here is what I found interesting (and always find interesting with atheists):

    As an atheist, I do not accept prayers, spells, curses, invitations to your theistic site for debate, scriptures, books, videos and other “God” media as proof of “existence of God”. Although you may find them inspirational, they are man made and only support a belief, not proof.

    And what is science, evolution etc etc? Are these not “man made” also? As the Romans scripture, that Neil quoted, states, “God gave them over to degrading passions” and “a depraved mind.” This atheist therefore (as well as all others) can’t help but sound like a fool, in the scriptural sense of the word!

  5. DB Says:

    Add on to my comment for clarity:

    Evolution is a man made hypothesis (not theory, since it can’t be proved), yet, in a form of metaphysical faith, Darwinians/materialists/naturalists/atheists cling to it as fact. So these “haters of God,” in fact, “support a belief, not proof.”

  6. jonolan Says:

    I’m not really clear on your comment about being required to make a defense of your faith. I understand the need or desire to interrogate one’s own faith though through discourse.

    Atheists, being mostly just ranting, angry people who are as caught up in their “religion” as the most annoying of the Evangelicals – no offense intended to Evangelicals in general – are, just don’t seem the best venue for such discovery though.

  7. DB Says:

    Jonolan,

    You bring up something very interesting and troubling to me. I’ve often wondered exactly what “defending the faith” actually meant.

    Here are some verses from Jude,

    1 Jude, a bond-servant of Jesus Christ, and brother of James,
    To those who are the called, beloved in God the Father, and kept for Jesus Christ: 2 May mercy and peace and love be multiplied to you.
    3 Beloved, while I was making every effort to write you about our common salvation, I felt the necessity to write to you appealing that you contend earnestly (defend) for the faith which was once for all handed down to the saints. 4 For certain persons have crept in unnoticed, those who were long beforehand marked out for this condemnation, ungodly persons who turn the grace of our God into licentiousness and deny our only Master and Lord, Jesus Christ.

    This very much sounds like Jude is saying defend, or “contend,” for the faith against those, who have infiltrated the body, and are wolves in sheep’s clothing (Perhaps, those described by Jude were Jerusalem Jews who were seeking to destroy the new faith in God through Jesus, the Christ). If I’m right, then are we to contend for the faith against the unbeliever also?

    I know, Eric, that this is way off topic, and we can take it up another time if you so wish. It’s just that this is something I have been unclear about for most of my walk with the Lord.

  8. Eric Kemp Says:

    Jonolan

    1 Peter 3:15 “but sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence;”

    I’m not saying to go out and seek a fight with every unbeliever that you see. But those who are directly attacking the faith, Christ commands us to make a defense against them, with gentleness and reverence. I’m not sure I always get the gentleness and reverence part right, but I’m working on it.

    Yea, atheists can be just as annoyingly dogmatic as any other religious person, but I have developed a heart for them. I mean, many of them are intelligent people, and I would hope Christianity would lean towards being more intellectually minded just as atheists are. I think that contending with smart people, who will give you a run for your money, is a great way to be ready for anything an enemy of the cross can throw at you.

    DB

    I agree with you, it’s a hard thing, to know exactly how and when and if to give a defense. We should consider the matter in more detail.

  9. krissmith777 Says:

    More and more, I am finding Atheism to be even more unreasonable than I have before.

    Especially now after reading a book called “I don’t have enough faith to be an Atheist.”

    I recommend reading it if you haven’t already, Eric. 🙂

  10. Eric Kemp Says:

    Kris

    I’ve heard of that book! Who wrote it?

  11. krissmith777 Says:

    It was written by Norman L. Geisler and Frank Turek

  12. krissmith777 Says:

    But seriously, if you haven’t read the book, I would recommend going to the nearest Berean Book store or to a Barnes & Noble and get a copy.

    To be honest, I am personally even more convinced of my Theism for reading it than before.

    I’m currently reading “God: The Evidence” which is not as much of a page turner, but it’s still good. 🙂

  13. krissmith777 Says:

    BTW, Eric,

    I just wrote a post on the newest evolutionary “missing link.”

    Care to give your feedback??

    http://explanationblog.wordpress.com/2009/05/24/not-impressed-with-evolutions-latest-missing-link/


Leave a Reply

