Christian Worldview Thought of the Day: Thursday

I am truly more saddened by the death of Steve McNair than Michael Jackson.  “Air McNair” was killed last weekend, in his sleep, by his girlfriend.  Steve was married.  His girlfriend, Sahel Kazemi, then turned the gun on herself.

Steve McNair was a great football player.  I truly enjoyed watching him play for years.  He embodied toughness and professionalism, and from all accounts of those around him, he was a good man who loved his family and gave back to his community. 

I’m not going to jump onto the “Steve McNair deserved to die because he was cheating on his wife” bandwagon.  However, this brings a sober reminder to any of us who are paying attention that being a “good man” is not enough.  Temptation comes to all of us, and we must be diligent in the Word and in our relationship with Christ or His protection over us may be lifted.

I don’t know if Steve McNair was a Christian, even though he did go to church in Nashville, and I don’t know if he deserved to die the way he did.  But I do know that if Steve wasn’t violating the sanctity of his marriage, I’d have a different “thought of the day”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Current Events

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Christian Worldview Thought of the Day: Thursday”

  1. B Says:

    I have to admit when I found about about Steve that I was way more upset than about Jackson….but it goes to show that being a “good man” doesn’t keep us away from all the sins that are constantly swarming us. I know that this infidelity may be a mark against him but this is a great reminder for us to keep in the Truth, the Word, and to always be on guard.

  2. Tim Nichols Says:

    Disclaimer: The wages of sin is death, and I’m sure we all realize that we’ve all, therefore, committed capital crimes in this sense. I take it this sense is not what you were talking about when you said you don’t know if he deserved to die, but rather a ‘social justice’ point of view (e.g., speeding is a sin, the wages of which are death, but we just issue a minor fine and have no trouble saying that people don’t deserve to die for speeding.)

    Once upon a time, God constituted a nation as His own holy people. When He did this, He considered what the penalty for adultery ought to be — and gave it a death sentence. Whether any other nation ought to do the same is a matter for debate, and I’m not trying to start that argument. But I think we’d have to say that what God instituted for Israel was not unjust — and therefore that there is no injustice in an adulterer dying as a direct consequence of his adultery.

    As Wisdom puts it in Prov.8:36: “He who sins against me wrongs his own soul; those who hate me love death.” Guess so.

    My prayers go with his wife and children; I pray that among those who step in to help care for them in McNair’s absence they will find godly models of biblical faithfulness and manhood.

  3. Eric Kemp Says:

    Tim

    You know, I didn’t really consider how I meant “I don’t know if Steve deserved to die”. Perhaps I meant “. . . at the hands of another human being” in a societal kind of way. Social justice, like you said. But if you asked me if I considered God’s punishment of Steve McNair as “just”, I would definitely agree. In the “Creator/Creature” sense, we have all violated God’s Law countless times and it is only by His unbelievable grace that he allows us to live. I think that’s what I meant by Christ’s protection being lifted off of us at any point if we’re not walking closely with Him.

    I think you’re right though, I need to make sure I qualify my statements, not assuming that everyone knows what I mean by “didn’t deserve to die”.

  4. Eric Kemp Says:

    B

    Yea, I think it helps us to remember that there is really no such thing as a “good man”.


Leave a Reply

